Author: Ricky L. Brown

Review: The Shrinking Man by Richard Matheson

Review: The Shrinking Man by Richard Matheson

There is a lot more to Richard Matheson’s The Shrinking Man than giant spiders and cats. It is the discovery that the amazing journey of life continues on infinitely, no matter how miniscule we become. Read More »

A Matter of Fact – Getting it Right

A Matter of Fact – Getting it Right

There may be nothing worse than reading a science fiction story only to discover the author ignored the important element of plausibility. Just because the work is fiction, it does not give one the artistic license to shirk on the facts. So, where ca... Read More »

Review: The Colors of Space

Review: The Colors of Space

In the tradition of Heinlein, The Colors of Space by Marion Zimmer Bradley is a provocative space adventure for young adults. But upon closer look, there is a lot more to the story as it becomes a prime example of an archetypical hero’s journey. Read More »

Review: Star Trek – The Art of Juan Ortiz

Review: Star Trek – The Art of Juan Ortiz

In Star Trek: The Art of Juan Ortiz, the renowned artist Juan Ortiz has created a brilliant collection of movie posters, one for each of the eighty individual episodes of the original series. Read More »

Is This the Future of Web Comments?

Is This the Future of Web Comments?

Why did Popular Science shut down reader comments? Reader interaction through comments is vital to the longevity of internet blogging. Yet, there is a growing concern over the impact these comments might have on the legitimacy of the articles being ... Read More »

Short Story Review: The Eagle Project by Jack McDevitt

Short Story Review: The Eagle Project by Jack McDevitt

Look closely at every periodical, because you never know what you might miss. The Eagle Project in the November 2013 issue of Analog Science Fiction and Fact may be just a little story by Jack McDevitt, but it is heavy with thought provoking content ... Read More »

Website Review: Star Wars dot com

Website Review: Star Wars dot com

For fans of classic space opera, one of the most iconic movie franchises ever produced in the genre is arguably that of the Star Wars saga. Not surprisingly, one of the most informative sites on the web pertaining to all that is Star Wars is the aptl... Read More »

An Elegy to Pohl

An Elegy to Pohl

This homage to Frederik Pohl is by no means a reflection on the author’s complete body of work enjoyed by his fans over the years. It just can’t be done in this small of a space. This is but a tiny glimpse at the work of a man many of us looked up to... Read More »

Review: Starship Century

Review: Starship Century

Starship Century is a book that needs to be read. It is a sad state of affairs when we need to be discussing the importance of space exploration. Yet here we are, pleading to the masses for what should be the obvious. Why go to the stars? – Because i... Read More »

The Metal Man by Jack Williamson

The Metal Man by Jack Williamson

At the young age of 20, science fiction icon Jack Williamson wrote his first short story The Metal Man and welcomed readers to a new literary brilliance that would be enjoyed by generations to come. We take a look at this historic tale. Read More »

Page 23 of 27«2122232425»